Columbia University Medical Center

Timothy Pedley Elected President of AAN

The American Academy of Neurology (AAN) has elected Timothy A. Pedley, MD, professor of neurology, as its 33rd president. The AAN is the world’s largest professional association of neurologists with more than 26,000 members.

Timothy Pedley, MD, has been elected president of the American Academy of Neurology.Throughout his professional career, Dr. Pedley’s major clinical and research interest has been epilepsy, and he has made both basic laboratory and clinical contributions to the field.  Dr. Pedley established the Neurological Institute’s Comprehensive Epilepsy Center, one of the first such centers in New York State to be accredited by the Department of Health. He has edited several standard textbooks on epilepsy, EEG and neurology.  In 2006, he received the William G. Lennox Award of the American Epilepsy Society for lifetime achievements.

Dr. Pedley is a major leader in American neurology. Before being elected president of AAN, Dr. Pedley has served as president of the American Neurological Association (2007-2009), the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (1989-1990), the American Epilepsy Society (1991-1992), and the Epilepsy Foundation of America (1991-1993). He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and he was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 2007.

Dr. Pedley also is an attending neurologist at the Neurological Institute of New York and New York-Presbyterian Hospital. He served as chair of Columbia University’s Department of Neurology from 1998 to 2011.