Columbia University Medical Center

ColumbiaDoctors: A Brief History

Columbia Faculty Practice Organization (CFPO) was organized in 1999 as a physician-run organization constituted within Columbia University.Membership is comprised of all full-time faculty and their respective departments. The organization is directed by a Board of Governance, representing clinical departments and practicing faculty.

With Dean Goldman’s arrival, it was re-organized, branded (trademarked in June 2009) as “ColumbiaDoctors,” with Richard U. Levine, M.D. as its President and Mike Duncan as its CEO.

1st President: Joseph Tenenbaum, M.D.
2nd President: Welton Gersony, M.D.
3rd President: Richard U. Levine, M.D.
4th President: Louis U. Bigliani, M.D.
5th President: George A Cioffi, M.D.

Today, ColumbiaDoctors is among the largest faculty medical practices in the Northeast, with more than 1,700 Columbia University Medical Center physicians, surgeons, dentists, and nurses. Our Columbia clinicians and researchers exemplify the excellence for which the University is known around the world. They are renowned for their expertise in specialty and subspecialty care, with more than 230 areas in all.  

Our clinicians harness the latest in scientific research to deliver the newest, most promising treatments directly to our patients. Many of ColumbiaDoctors clinicians rank among the most highly regarded health care professionals in their fields. Our faculty brings the highest standards of compassionate, collaborative care to our patients at New York-Presbyterian Hospital, No. 1 in New York City, its affiliates in the region. ColumbiaDoctors has nearly 300 offices located in Midtown Manhattan, Washington Heights, the lower Hudson Valley, and across the tri-state area.