Columbia University Medical Center

Endocrine Society announces 2014 Laureate Award winners

The Endocrine Society today announced it has selected 15 accomplished endocrinologists as winners of the organization’s prestigious 2014 Laureate Awards. …

  • John P. Bilezikian, MD – Distinguished Educator Award. This annual award recognizes exceptional achievement as an educator in the discipline of endocrinology and metabolism. Bilezikian is a mentor to a generation of trainees, a major innovator of new educational programs, both nationally and internationally, and a tireless advocate for the recruitment of physicians and physician-scientists in endocrinology. He is Chair of the Endocrine Fellows Foundation, a not-for-profit organization that has, for the past 20 years, provided competitive research grants to endocrinology fellows. Bilezikian is the Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Professor of Medicine and Professor of Pharmacology at Columbia University Medical Center in New York City.
  • Domenico Accili, MD – Edwin B. Astwood Award Lecture. This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to research in endocrinology. Accili’s new landmark findings in beta-cell differentiation are revolutionizing the understanding of the pathophysiology of diabetes and reshaping the programs for therapy of both type 2 and type 1 diabetes. Accili is the Russell Berrie Foundation Professor of Diabetes (in Medicine) at Columbia University Medical Center and Director of the Columbia University Diabetes and Endocrinology Research Center in New York City.